Trench Coat & Cowboy Hat


I see I didn’t post anything yesterday. On the one hand that indicates I fell off my goal to write 2,000 words a day, every day, but then again I was doing a different kind of writing yesterday. My software project made some good gains and I’ve started adding AJAX to the forms so they update the database immediately. But I digress.

Earlier today I came across an article where a guy was described as wearing a trench coat and a cowboy hat. What a vivid image! I wonder what variety of characters can be worked up starting with that as a seed?

The guy stepping out from behind the pillar was wearing a trench coat and a cowboy hat, the turned up collar concealing a pasty round face that gleamed in the shadows. His air of menace was diminished by his scrub pants and ratty sneakers.

“Are you looking for me?” His voice squeaked, pushing over into poser status. He seemed to get shorter and pudgier as he walked out of the shadows. Another wannabe secret agent. Gees!

Wannabe secret agent. That’s one!

The tall, lanky Texan strode into the lobby, stomping the snow off his boots and knocking it off his Stetson as he looked around. Margaret rose from her seat and started for him.

“Are you Mr. Axelrod?”

He turned toward her and put his hat back on his head. “Miz Weber, ah presume? You can call me Jack.” He went to meet her and held out his hand.

“It’s good you could come, Jack. You can call me Margaret. Can I take your coat?” She was tall, but he towered over her. She looked up into steel grey eyes twinkling in his weathered face.

“Why thank you, ma’am, but I wouldn’t want to get your purdy dress wet. I’ll just hang it on the rack over there.” He slipped out of his trench coat as Margaret led him to the meeting room. His London Fog joined others on the coat rack, but his Stetson was alone among a collection of military hats. He wondered if his was going to be the only suit not festooned with ribbons.

Military contractor or consultant from Texas. That’s two! I”m definitely detecting a military theme here. I have another one in mind, definitely not military, but I have to get heading to work. I’ll continue this in a second post. (This is fun!)

About Kurt Schweitzer

A former vampire logistics facilitator, past purveyor of Italian-style transportation, and Y2K disaster preventer, I'm currently creating websites, novels and other fictions while reinventing myself. Again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

