Countdown to Camp


While I really appreciate writing contests like Camp NaNoWriMo for their combination of motivation, support, and time constraints (i.e. pressure) the run-up to them is rather nerve-wracking.

As I write this there are … 2 days, 9 hours, 1 minute, and 45 seconds until the start of the next contest. I am committed to writing 50,000 words during the month of April. That’s a lot of words. At my current writing pace (creative writing, not just typing) it’s going to take me at least three hours of writing every day to accomplish this.

My internal goal is to write the entire first draft of a novel, Magic Touch. I’ve plotted out 36 scenes and allocated between 1,000 and 2,000 words to each. (I suspect the scenes will wind up longer than that – most scenes I’ve written in the past have been at least 1,500 words, and some much longer!)

To keep myself from jumping the gun (too much) I’m going into excruciating (for me) detail planning each scene. For instance, my Climax. It’s the heart of the novel, so I want it to be just so. For my planning (I’m not writing, I’m planning!) I’ve listed all the good guys in the scene, all the bad guys, all the potential informers (people not in the scene, but who know about it and might say something to mess things up), and all the essential props.

I’ve described (not written! I’m not writing the scene yet!) the key moment, the actions immediately before and after, and made notes on the reactions of key characters.

I’ve also listed key questions that authorities (i.e. cops) might ask in the aftermath, and where the characters are headed at the end of the scene.

The scene is planned to be 2,000 words long. My “brief” overview of the scene is over 350 words.

I am so fed up with planning this book and want to get down to writing it!

About Kurt Schweitzer

A former vampire logistics facilitator, past purveyor of Italian-style transportation, and Y2K disaster preventer, I'm currently creating websites, novels and other fictions while reinventing myself. Again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

